REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE

Thursday, November 17, 2011

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology

has the honour to present its

THIRD REPORT


Your committee, which was authorized by the Senate on Tuesday, June 21, 2011 to examine and report on the accessibility of post-secondary education in Canada, respectfully requests funds for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2012, and requests, for the purpose of such study, that it be empowered to engage the services of such counsel, technical, clerical and other personnel as may be necessary.

Pursuant to Chapter 3:06, section 2(1)(c) of the Senate Administrative Rules, the budget submitted to the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration and the report thereon of that committee are appended to this report.

Respectfully submitted,

KELVIN K. OGILVIE
Chair


STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL AFFAIRS, SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

SPECIAL STUDY on ACCESS TO POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION IN cANADA

APPLICATION FOR BUDGET AUTHORIZATION FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING MARCH 31, 2012

Extract from the Journals of the Senate, Tuesday, June 21, 2011: 

The Honourable Senator Ogilvie moved, seconded by the Honourable Senator Patterson:

That the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology be authorized to examine and report on the accessibility of post-secondary education in Canada, including but not limited to:

(a) analysis of the current barriers in post-secondary education, such as geography, family income levels, means of financing for students, debt levels and challenges faced specifically by Aboriginal students;

(b) evaluation of the current mechanisms for students to fund post-secondary education, such as Canada Student Loans Program, Canada Student Grants Program, Canada Access Grants, funding for Aboriginal students, Canada Learning Bonds, and Registered Education Savings Plans;

(c) evaluation of the current mechanisms to fund scientific research and development in post-secondary and related institutions and the commercialization of such research;

(d) examination of the current federal/provincial transfer mechanism for post-secondary education;

(e) evaluation of the potential establishment of a dedicated transfer for post-secondary education; and

(f) any other matters related to the study;

That the papers and evidence received and taken and work accomplished by the committee on this subject during the Fortieth Parliament be referred to the committee; and

That the committee submit its final report no later than December 31, 2011, and that the committee retain until June 30, 2012, all powers necessary to publicize its findings.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Gary W. O’Brien
Clerk of the Senate


APPENDIX (B) TO THE REPORT

THURSDAY, November 17, 2011

The Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration has examined the budget presented to it by the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology for the proposed expenditures of the said Committee for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2012 for the purpose of its special study on Access to Post-Secondary Education in Canada, as authorized by the Senate on Tuesday, June 21, 2011. The said budget is as follows:

Professional and Other Services  $     6,000
Transportation and Communications $            0
All Other Expenditures $   15,500
   
Total $   21,500

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID TKACHUK
Chair


Top of document

RAPPORT DU COMITÉ

Le jeudi 17 novembre 2011

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires sociales, des sciences et de la technologie

a l’honneur de présenter son

TROISIÈME RAPPORT


Votre comité, qui a été autorisé par le Sénat le mardi 21 juin 2011 à examiner, pour en faire rapport, la question de l'accessibilité à l'éducation postsecondaire au Canada, demande respectueusement des fonds pour l’exercice financier se terminant le 31 mars 2012 et demande qu’il soit, aux fins de ses travaux, autorisé à embaucher tout conseiller juridique et personnel technique, de bureau ou autre dont il pourrait avoir besoin.

Conformément au Chapitre 3:06, article 2(1)c) du Règlement administratif du Sénat, le budget présenté au Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l’administration ainsi que le rapport s’y rapportant, sont annexés au présent rapport.

Respectueusement soumis, 

Le président,
Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie


COMITÉ SÉNATORIAL PERMANENT DES AFFAIRES SOCIALES, DES SCIENCES ET DE LA TECHNOLOGIE

ÉTUDE SPECIAL SUR l'accessibilité à l'éducation postsecondaire au Canada

DEMANDE D’AUTORISATION DE BUDGET POUR L’EXERCICE FINANCIER SE TERMINANT LE 31 MARS, 2012

Extrait des Journaux du Sénat du mardi 21 juin 2011:

L'honorable sénateur Ogilvie propose, appuyé par l'honorable sénateur Patterson,

Que le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires sociales, des sciences et de la technologie soit autorisé à étudier la question de l'accessibilité à l'éducation postsecondaire au Canada et à en faire rapport, ce qui inclut sans toutefois s'y limiter :

a) l'analyse des obstacles actuels à l'éducation postsecondaire, dont la région géographique, le niveau de revenu familial, les moyens de financement dont disposent les étudiants, les niveaux d'endettement, et les défis auxquels les étudiants autochtones en particulier doivent faire face;

b) l'évaluation des mécanismes de financement des études postsecondaires dont disposent les étudiants, par exemple le Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants, le programme canadien de bourses d'études, les subventions canadiennes pour l'accès aux études, les fonds offerts aux étudiants autochtones, le Bon d'étude canadien et les Régimes enregistrés d'épargne-études;

c) évaluation des mécanismes actuels de financement de la recherche et du développement scientifiques dans les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et établissements connexes, et commercialisation des fruits de cette recherche;

d) l'étude du mécanisme de transfert fédéral-provincial pour l'éducation postsecondaire;

e) l'évaluation de l'établissement éventuel d'un transfert spécial pour l'éducation postsecondaire;

f) toutes autres questions relatives à l'étude;

Que les documents reçus, les témoignages entendus, et les travaux accomplis par le comité sur ce sujet au cours de la quarantième législature soient renvoyés au comité;

Que le comité soumette son rapport final au Sénat au plus tard le 31 décembre 2011 et qu'il conserve jusqu'au 30 juin 2012 tous les pouvoirs nécessaires pour diffuser ses conclusions.

La motion, mise aux voix, est adoptée.

Le greffier du Sénat,
Gary W. O’Brien


ANNEXE (B) AU RAPPORT

Le jeudi 17 novembre 2011

            Le Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration a examiné le budget qui lui a été présenté par le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires sociales, des sciences et de la technologie concernant les dépenses projetées dudit Comité pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 aux fins de leur étude spéciale sur l’accessibilité à l’éducation postsecondaire au Canada, tel qu'autorisé par le Sénat le mardi 21 juin 2011. Ledit budget se lit comme suit:

Services professionnels et autres   6 000 $
Transports et communications          0 $
Autres dépenses 15 500 $
   
Total 21 500 $

Respectueusement soumis,

Le président,
DAVID TKACHUK


Haut de la page