Skip to Content

CBC/Radio-Canada’s Language Obligations: Communities Want to See Themselves and Be Heard Coast to Coast!

Photo of a cameraman in a studio

Scroll down

Arrow pointing down

About the Study

Image of English and Français buttons on a scale

What is the Official Languages Act?

The Official Languages Act provides that English and French are the official languages of Canada and have equality of status and equal rights and privileges as to their use. The Act supports the development of English and French linguistic minority communities and fosters the advancement of equality of status and use of English and French. The Act applies to federal institutions, including CBC/Radio-Canada.

Map of Canada

What is the Broadcasting Act?

The Broadcasting Act sets out the parameters within which the Canadian broadcasting system operates. It emphasizes the creation and presentation of Canadian programming. The Act identifies CBC/Radio-Canada as the national public broadcaster, provides a framework for its operations and sets out the elements that must be part of its programming.

Which aspects of the Broadcasting Act were addressed in the study?

The goal of the Senate Committee’s study was to determine whether CBC/Radio-Canada is meeting the requirements of the Broadcasting Act. Three specific aspects of the Broadcasting Act were examined: 

  • offer of services in both official languages; 
  • equivalent quality; and
  • reflection of regional diversity.

Which aspects of the Official Languages Act were addressed in the study?

The goal of the Senate Committee’s study was to determine whether CBC/Radio-Canada is meeting the requirements of the Official Languages Act. Two aspects of the Official Languages Act were examined:

  • communications with and services to the public; and
  • the vitality of official-language minority communities and advancement of linguistic duality. 
Photo of a hand holding a microphone

How does CBC/Radio-Canada contribute to the advancement of the two official languages?

“CBC/Radio-Canada’s services make a unique contribution to achieving the principles underlying federal language policy, namely national equality of English and French, respect for language rights and the vitality of [official-language minority communities].”

Graham Fraser, Commissioner of Official Languages

“As a national public broadcaster, the CBC should be a pan-Canadian service that reflects and serves the needs of all Canadians in both official languages regardless of where they live.”

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

Senators who participated in this study

Photo of Senator Tardif

Claudette Tardif
Lib. - (Alberta)

Photo of Senator Champagne

Deputy Chair
Andrée Champagne
C - (Grandville - Quebec)

Photo of Senator Beyak

Lynn Beyak
C - (Ontario)

Photo of Senator Chaput

Maria Chaput
Lib. - (Manitoba)

Photo of Senator Charette-Poulin

Marie-P. Charette-Poulin
Lib. - (Northern Ontario - Ontario)

Photo of Senator Fortin-Duplessis

Suzanne Fortin-Duplessis
C - (Rougemont - Quebec)

Photo of Senator McIntyre

Paul E. McIntyre
C - (New Brunswick)

Photo of Senator Poirier

Rose-May Poirier
C - (Saint-Louis-de-Kent - New Brunswick)

Former Committee members who have participated in this study:
The Honourable Senators De Bané, P.C. (retired), Losier-Cool (retired), Mockler and Robichaud, P.C.

Ex-officio members of the committee:
The Honourable Senators Claude Carignan, P.C. (or Yonah Martin) and James S. Cowan (or Joan Fraser)

Other Senators who have participated from time to time in the study:
The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Boisvenu, Buth, Callbeck, Comeau, P.C., Dawson, Demers, Marshall, McInnis, Ringuette, Rivard and Segal

Contact information

General Information:
613-990-0088 or 1-800-267-7362


Mailing Address:
Senate Committee on Official Languages
The Senate of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1A 0A4