

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Thursday, March 24, 2022 (4)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of reference of the Senate of November 25, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade met this day in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference at 11:30 a.m. ET, the deputy chair, the Honourable Peter Harder, P.C., presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Clement, Gerba, Greene, Harder, P.C., MacDonald, Oh and Ravalia (7).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Boniface, Deacon (Ontario), Richards and Woo (4).

Participating in the meeting: Sara Gajic, Legislative Clerk and Maritza Jean-Pierre, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Brian Hermon, Nadia Faucher, Joëlle Malo and Scott McTaggart, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, March 1, 2022, the committee began its consideration of Bill S-217, An Act respecting the repurposing of certain seized, frozen or sequestrated assets.

*WITNESSES* (by videoconference):

Global Affairs Canada:

Alexandre Lévêque, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy;

Louis-Martin Aumais, Executive Director, Criminal, Security and Diplomatic Law Division;

Matina Karvellas, Deputy Executive Director and General Counsel, GAC Legal Services;

Brandon Cove, Senior Advisor, Sanctions Policy and Operations Coordination Division.

As individuals:

Fen Hampson, President, World Refugee and Migration Council;

Susan Côté-Freeman, President, Transparency International Canada;

Brandon Silver, Director of Policy and Projects, Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights;

Meredith Lilly, Associate Professor and Simon Reisman Chair in International Affairs, Carleton University;

Ihor Michalchyshyn, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, Ukrainian Canadian Congress.

Fen Hampson, Susan Côté-Freeman and Brandon Silver each made a statement and answered questions.

Alexandre Lévêque, Meredith Lilly and Ihor Michalchyshyn each made a statement and, together with Louis-Martin Aumais and Matina Karvellas, answered questions.

At 1:14 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Gaëtane Lemay

Clerk of the Committee