

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Thursday, June 16, 2022 (14)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade met this day in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 11:30 a.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Peter M. Boehm, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Boehm, Gerba, Greene, Harder, P.C., MacDonald, Omidvar, Ravalia and Woo (8).

*Members of the committee present by videoconference:* The Honourable Senators Boisvenu, Boniface and Deacon (3).

*Participating in the meeting:* Sara Gajic, Legislative Clerk, Committees Directorate; Nathalie Boutros, Executive Assistant, Office of the Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments and Chief Legislative Services Officer; Nadia Faucher and Brian Hermon, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 24, 2022, the committee continued its study of the Canadian foreign service and elements of the foreign policy machinery within Global Affairs Canada.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

As individuals:

Morris Rosenberg, Former Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs;

Ian Shugart, Former Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and Former Clerk of the Privy Council;

Patricia Fortier, Senior Fellow, Graduate School of International Affairs, University of Ottawa;

Colin Robertson, Vice-President and Fellow, Canadian Global Affairs Institute;

Randolph Mank, Fellow, Canadian Global Affairs Institute and Balsillie School of International Affairs.

It was agreed that the Senate Communications Directorate be permitted to take photos during today's meeting with as little disruption as possible.

Morris Rosenberg and Ian Shugart each made a statement and answered questions.

Patricia Fortier, Colin Robertson and Randolph Mank each made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:27 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Gaëtane Lemay

Clerk of the Committee