

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, June 20, 2022 (15)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade met this day in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 10:30 a.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Peter M. Boehm, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Deacon (Ontario), Dean, Gerba, Harder, P.C., and Kutcher (6).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators MacDonald, Oh and Omidvar (3).

Participating in the meeting: Sara Gajic, Legislative Clerk, Committees Directorate; Nathalie Boutros, Executive Assistant, Office of the Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments and Chief Legislative Services Officer; Nadia Faucher and Brian Hermon, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, June 14, 2022, the committee began its consideration of Bill S-9, An Act to amend the Chemical Weapons Convention Implementation Act.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Global Affairs Canada:

Trevor Smith, Acting Director, Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Division;

Andrew Halliday, Deputy National Coordinator, Canadian National Authority to the CWC;

Gregory Newman, Senior Counsel, GAC Legal Services.

Andrew Halliday and Trevor Smith made a statement together and, with Gregory Newman, answered questions.

At 10:33 a.m., the Honourable Senator Dean replaced the Honourable Senator Coyle as a member of the committee.

At 10:58 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:59 a.m., the committee resumed.

It was agreed that the committee proceed to clause-by-clause consideration of Bill S-9.

It was agreed that the title stand postponed.

It was agreed that clause 1 carry.

It was agreed that clause 2 carry.

It was agreed that the title carry.

It was agreed that the bill carry.

It was agreed that the chair report Bill S-9, without amendment to the Senate, at the earliest opportunity.

At 11 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Gaëtane Lemay

Clerk of the Committee