

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, October 30, 2024 (96)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade met this day at 4:14 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Peter M. Boehm, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Coyle, Dagenais, Deacon (*Ontario*), Dean, Gerba, Gold, P.C., Greene, Klyne, MacDonald, Ravalia and Woo (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Adler, Busson, Cuzner and Verner, P.C. (4).

Participating in the meeting: Brian Hermon and Zachariah Black, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, April 16, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-282, An Act to amend the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Act (supply management).

WITNESSES:

Beef Farmers of Ontario:

Jason Leblond, Vice-President.

Cereals Canada:

Mark Walker, Vice-President, Market and Trade (by videoconference).

Saskatchewan Cattlemen's Association:

Grant McLellan, Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

Fruit and Vegetable Growers of Canada:

George Gilvesy, Chair, Ontario Green House Vegetable Growers.

As individuals:

The Honourable Mark Eyking, Former Member of Parliament and former Chair of the House of Commons Standing Committee on International Trade;

Jonathan Fried, Former Canadian Ambassador to Japan and to the World Trade Organization;

Roland Paris, Full Professor and Director, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, University of Ottawa;

Sylvain Charlebois, Professor and Director, Agri-Food Analytics Lab, Dalhousie University.

Jason Leblond, Mark Walker, Grant McLellan, George Gilvesy and the Honourable Mark Eyking each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:15 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:20 p.m., the committee resumed.

Jonathan Fried, Roland Paris and Sylvain Charlebois each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:16 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Chantal Cardinal

Clerk of the Committee