

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, March 3, 2022 (3)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of November 25, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 9:01 a.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Robert Black, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Marwah, Mercer and Oh (4).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Deacon (Nova Scotia), Griffin, Klyne, Ringuette, Simons and Wetston (6).

Participating in the meeting: Mark Palmer, Procedural Clerk, Tracy Amendola and Laurie-Anne Spooner, administrative assistants, Committees Directorate; Offah Obale, Analyst, Library of Parliament; Ben Silverman, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, December 9, 2021, the committee continued its consideration of Bill S-222, An Act to amend the Department of Public Works and Government Services Act (use of wood).

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

National Research Council Canada:

Jean-François Houle, Vice President, Engineering;

Trevor Nightingale, Director General, Construction Research Centre;

Thomas Ferguson, Director, Built Environment Regulations and Specifications.

Public Services and Procurement Canada:

Stéphan Déry, Assistant Deputy Minister, Real Property Services.

University of British Columbia:

John Metras, Associate Vice-President, Facilities.

Wood Research and Development:

Daniel Tingley, Executive Director, Senior Design Engineer.

Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs:

Keven Lefebvre, Fire Chief, Leduc County, Alberta, CAFC Building Codes Committee Co-Chair;

Tina Saryeddine, Executive Director.

Jean-François Houle and Stéphan Déry each made a statement and, together with Trevor Nightingale and Thomas Ferguson, answered questions.

At 9:57 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:58 a.m., the committee resumed.

John Metras, Daniel Tingley and Keven Lefebvre each made a statement and, together with Tina Saryeddine answered questions.

At 10:55 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ferda Simpson

Clerk of the Committee