

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, April 28, 2022 (7)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of March 31, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference at 9:03 a.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Robert Black, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Cotter, Marwah and Oh (4).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Deacon (Nova Scotia), Klyne, Mercer, Petitclerc, Simons and Wetston (6).

Participating in the meeting: Sara Gajic, Legislative Clerk and Tracy Amendola, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Offah Obale, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 10, 2022, the committee began its study on issues relating to agriculture and forestry generally. (Topic: The British Columbia Flood and Recovery Efforts)

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Aaron Fowler, Chief Agriculture Negotiator and Director General, Trade Agreements and Negotiations;

Scott Pellow, Executive Director, Planning, Coordination and Disaster Assessment Division;

Francesco Del Bianco, Director General, Business Risk Management Programs Directorate.

Public Safety Canada:

Mauricette Howlett, Director General, Programs, Emergency Management and Programs Branch;

Doug May, Senior Director, Programs, Emergency Management and Programs Branch.

Farm Credit Canada:

Michael Hoffort, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Corinna Mitchell-Beaudin, Executive Vice-President and Chief Risk Officer.

City of Abbotsford:

Henry Braun, Mayor.

Fraser Valley Regional District:

Jason Lum, Chair.

Francesco Del Bianco, Michael Hoffort, Henry Braun and Jason Lum each made a statement and, together with Aaron Fowler, Scott Pellow, Mauricette Howlett, Doug May and Corinna Mitchell-Beaudin, answered questions.

At 10:49 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:50 a.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft report.

At 10:58 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ferda Simpson

Clerk of the Committee