

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, June 16, 2022 (13)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference at 9:01 a.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Robert Black, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Cotter, Deacon (*Nova Scotia*), Klyne, Marwah, Oh and Simons (7).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Petitclerc and Jaffer (2).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senator Duncan (1).

Participating in the meeting: Tracy Amendola, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Ben Silverman, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate; Offah Obale, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, June 7, 2022, the committee began its consideration of Bill S-236, An Act to amend the Employment Insurance Act and the Employment Insurance Regulations (Prince Edward Island).

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

City of Charlottetown:

Philip Brown, Mayor of Charlottetown.

Employment and Social Development Canada:

George Rae, Director, Employment Insurance Policy Directorate;

Caroline Cantin, Manager, Employment Insurance Policy Directorate;

Mona Nandy, Acting Director General, Employment Insurance Policy Directorate.

Canada Employment Insurance Commission:

Pierre Laliberté, Commissioner for Workers.

P.E.I. Federation of Labour:

Carl Pursey, President.

Charlottetown Chamber of Commerce:

Bill DeBlois, President;

Robert Godfrey, Chief Executive Officer.

As individuals:

The Honourable Diane F. Griffin, former senator;

The Honourable Wayne Easter, P.C., former Member of Parliament, Malpeque and Farmer.

The Honourable Diane F. Griffin, the Honourable Wayne Easter, P.C. and Philip Brown each made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:49 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:52 a.m., the committee resumed.

George Rae, Pierre Laliberté, Carl Pursey and Bill DeBlois each made a statement and, together with Caroline Cantin, Mona Nandy and Robert Godfrey, answered questions.

At 10:44 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:45 a.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft report.

At 10:49 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ferda Simpson

Clerk of the Committee