

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, June 15, 2022 (13) [English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 4:30 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Brian Francis, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Coyle, Francis, Pate and Tannas (4).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Arnot, Audette, Hartling, Lovelace Nicholas and Patterson (5).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Dalphond (1).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senator LaBoucane-Benson (1).

Participating in the meeting: Sébastien Payet, Acting Procedural Clerk and Lori Meldrum, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Brittany Collier and Sara Fryer, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, June 14, 2022, the committee began its consideration of Bill S-10, An Act to give effect to the Anishinabek Nation Governance Agreement, to amend the Sechelt Indian Band Self-Government Act and the Yukon First Nations Self-Government Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Anishinabek Nation:

Reg Niganobe, Grand Council Chief;

R. Martin Bayer, Chief Negotiator.

shíshálh Nation:

Henry Warren Paull, Chief.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

- Murray Pridham, Manager, Federal Negotiations, Negotiations Central, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;
- Carmen Kardoes, Acting Senior Director, Negotiations Central, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;
- Blake McLaughlin, Acting Director General, Negotiations Central, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;

Georgina Lloyd, Director General, Implementation Branch, Implementation Sector;

Mike Haberl, Director, Treaty Management, British Columbia.

Department of Justice Canada:

Pierre-Luc Lavoie, Senior Counsel, Negotiations and Northern Affairs Section, CIRNAC/ISC Legal Services;

Marnie Munro, Deputy Director and Senior Counsel, National Litigation Sector.

Reg Niganobe made a statement and, together with R. Martin Bayer, answered questions.

At 5:05 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the committee resumed.

Henry Warren Paull made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:35 p.m., the committee resumed.

Blake McLaughlin and Mike Haberl each made a statement and, together with Murray Pridham, answered questions.

It was agreed that the committee proceed to clause-by-clause consideration of Bill S-10.

It was agreed that the title stand postponed.

With leave and pursuant to rule 12-20(4), it was agreed that the committee group clauses according to the three parts of the bill as described in the table of provisions.

It was agreed that Part 1 entitled, Anishinabek Nation Governance Agreement Act, which contains clauses 1 to 7, carry.

It was agreed that Part 2 entitled, Sechelt Indian Band Self Government Act, which contains clauses 8 to 47, carry.

It was agreed that Part 3 entitled, Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, which contains clause 48, carry.

It was agreed that the schedule carry.

It was agreed that the title carry.

It was agreed that the bill carry.

The committee discussed observations.

At 6:11 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:12 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft report.

It was agreed that the committee allow the transcription of the in camera portion of today's meeting, that one copy be kept with the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members and/or staff, and that the transcript be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, but no later than at the end of the parliamentary session.

At 6:21 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:22 p.m., the committee resumed in public.

It was agreed that the chair report Bill S-10, without amendment, to the Senate.

At 6:23 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Andrea Mugny

Clerk of the Committee