

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 9, 2023 (41)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Indigenous Peoples met this day at 9 a.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Brian Francis, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Arnot, Audette, Coyle, Francis, Greenwood, Hartling, LaBoucane-Benson, Sorensen and Tannas (9).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator McCallum (1).

Participating in the meeting: Brittany Collier and Sara Fryer, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 4, 2023, the committee began its examination of Bill C-29, An Act to provide for the establishment of a national council for reconciliation.

WITNESSES:

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

Kate Ledgerwood, Director General, Reconciliation Secretariat, Policy and Strategic Direction;

Andy Garrow, Director, Planning and Partnerships Directorate, Reconciliation Secretariat.

Department of Justice Canada:

Seetal Sunga, Senior Counsel.

Privy Council Office:

Donald Booth, Director of Strategic Policy and Canadian Secretary to The King, Machinery of Government.

Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee) / Cree Nation Government:

Mandy Gull-Masty, Grand Chief.

Office of the Treaty Commissioner of Saskatchewan:

Mary Culbertson, Treaty Commissioner (by videoconference).

Kate Ledgerwood made a statement and, together with Andy Garrow, Seetal Sunga and Donald Booth, answered questions.

At 10 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:05 a.m., the committee resumed.

Grand Chief Mandy Gull-Masty and Mary Culbertson each made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:59 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Andrea Mugny

Clerk of the Committee