

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 31, 2023 (46)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Indigenous Peoples met this day at 6:45 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Brian Francis, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Arnot, Audette, Coyle, Francis, Greenwood, Hartling, LaBoucane-Benson, Patterson (*Nunavut*), Sorensen and Tannas (10).

Participating in the meeting: Brittany Collier and Sara Fryer, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 4, 2023, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-29, An Act to provide for the establishment of a national council for reconciliation.

## WITNESSES:

Transitional Committee for the National Council for Reconciliation:

Mitchell Case, Member;

Edith Cloutier, Member;

Rosemary Cooper, Member;

Michael DeGagné, Member.

First Nations Tax Commission:

Manny Jules, Chief Commissioner (by videoconference).

National Indigenous Economic Development Board:

Dawn Madahbee Leach, Chairperson (by videoconference).

Michael DeGagné, Edith Cloutier, Mitchell Case and Rosemary Cooper each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:44 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:49 p.m., the committee resumed.

Manny Jules and Dawn Madahbee Leach each made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:38 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Andrea Mugny

Clerk of the Committee