

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Tuesday, June 6, 2023 (47)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Indigenous Peoples met this day at 9:01 a.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Brian Francis, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Arnot, Coyle, Greenwood, Hartling, LaBoucane-Benson, Martin, Patterson (Nunavut), Sorensen and Tannas (9).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Klyne and McCallum (2).

Participating in the meeting: Brittany Collier and Sara Fryer, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 30, 2023, the committee began its examination of Bill C-45, An Act to amend the First Nations Fiscal Management Act, to make consequential amendments to other Acts, and to make a clarification relating to another Act.

## APPEARING:

The Honourable Marc Miller, P.C., M.P., Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations.

## WITNESSES:

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

Christopher Duschenes, Director General, Indigenous Institutions and Governance Modernization;

Philippe Bertrand, Manager, Fiscal Policy and Investment Readiness;

Andrea Dixon, Senior Policy Analyst, Fiscal Policy and Investment Readiness;

Karine Tremblay, Senior Policy Analyst, Fiscal Policy and Investment Readiness.

Department of Justice Canada:

Andrew Ouchterlony, Legal Counsel.

Indigenous Services Canada:

Joanne Wilkinson, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations (by videoconference);

Lynne Newman, Director General, Fiscal Arrangements;

Jessica Sultan, Director General, Economic Policy Development.

First Nations Finance Authority:

Ernie Daniels, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference);

Steve Berna, Chief Operating Officer (by videoconference);

Jody Anderson, Strategy and Partnerships Advisor (by videoconference).

First Nations Financial Management Board:

Harold Calla, Executive Chair.

First Nations Infrastructure Institute:

Allan Claxton, Development Board Chair;

Jason Calla, Technical Team Lead.

First Nations Tax Commission:

Manny Jules, Chief Commissioner.

The minister made a statement and, together with Christopher Duschenes, answered questions.

At 9:58 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:05 a.m., the committee resumed.

Ernie Daniels, Harold Calla, Allan Claxton, Jason Calla and Manny Jules each made a statement and answered questions.

It was agreed that the committee allow electronic and photographic media coverage of its public meetings on Wednesday, June 7, 2023, with as little disruption of the meetings as possible.

ATTEST:

Mark Palmer

Acting Clerk of the Committee