

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 10, 2022 (10) [English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference at 6:32 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Pamela Wallin, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Gignac, Marshall, Massicotte, Smith and Woo (6).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Deacon (*Nova Scotia*), Loffreda, Ringuette, Wallin and Yussuff (5).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senator Moncion (1).

Participating in the meeting: Mireille K. Aubé, Procedural Clerk and Debbie Larocque, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Edison César-Roy and Adriane Yong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, May 4, 2022, the committee began its consideration of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 5, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17 and 30 of Part 5 of Bill C-19, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 7, 2022 and other measures.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Department of Finance Canada:

Jean-François Girard, Senior Director, Markets Policy, Financial Stability and Capital Markets Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Manuel Dussault, Senior Director, Framework Policy;

Stefania Bartucci, Senior Project Leader, Financial Institutions Division;

Tracy Laufer, Senior Advisor, Framework Policy.

Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation:

Chantal Richer, Chief Operating Officer;

Sarah Govan-Sisk, Director, Governance.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institution:

Stéphane Fournier, Senior Manager, Legislative Policy, Interpretations and Compliance Unit, Regulatory Affairs Division;

Joanne Lucas, Manager, Legislative Policy, Interpretations and Compliance Unit, Regulatory Affairs Division.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Jennifer Miller, Director General, Marketplace Framework Policy Branch;

Ian Disend, Expert Advisor, Policy, Research and Analysis.

Competition Bureau Canada:

Anthony Durocher, Deputy Commissioner, Competition Promotion Branch.

Jean-François Girard, Chantal Richer, Stefania Bartucci, Manuel Dussault, Stéphane Fournier, Jennifer Miller and Anthony Durocher each made a statement and, together with Ian Disend, answered questions.

At 8:08 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Kalina Waltos

Clerk of the Committee