

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 18, 2022 (13) [English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day in room W110, 1 Wellington St., and with videoconference, at 6:31 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Pamela Wallin, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Deacon (Nova Scotia), Marshall, Smith and Wallin (5).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Gignac, Loffreda, Massicotte, Ringuette, Woo and Yussuff (6).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senator Moncion (1).

Participating in the meeting: Mireille K. Aubé, Procedural Clerk and Debbie Larocque, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Edison Roy-César and Adriane Yong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, May 4, 2022, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 5, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17 and 30 of Part 5 of Bill C-19, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 7, 2022 and other measures.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada:

Andrea E. Kokonis, Chief Legal Officer.

Société des auteurs de radio, télévision et cinéma:

Chantal Cadieux, President;

Stéphane Gilker, External Legal Expert.

Creative Commons Canada:

Gryphon Theriault-Loubier, Country Leader.

College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents:

Darrel Pink, Chief Executive Officer.

Transparency International Canada:

James Cohen, Executive Director.

As individuals:

Michael A. Geist, Professor and Chair, Internet and E-commerce Law, Faculty of Law, Common Law Section, University of Ottawa;

Jeremy de Beer, Professor, Faculty of Law and Director, Open AIR, University of Ottawa;

Casey M. Chisick, Partner and Co-Chair, Intellectual Property, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP;

Marc Y. Tassé, Senior Advisor, Canadian Centre of Excellence for Anti-Corruption and Professor, Faculty of Law and Telfer School of Management, University of Ottawa.

Michael A. Geist, Jeremy de Beer, Andrea E. Kokonis, Chantal Cadieux and Gryphon Theriault-Loubier each made a statement and, together with Stéphane Gilker and Casey M. Chisick, answered questions.

Darrel Pink, James Cohen and Marc Y. Tassé each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:51 p.m., the deputy chair, the Honourable Senator Deacon (Nova Scotia), took the chair.

At 8:11 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 8:12 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 8:26 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Kalina Waltos

Clerk of the Committee