

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Wednesday, October 2, 2024 (86)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Commerce and the Economy met this day at 4:28 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Pamela Wallin, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Deacon (Nova Scotia), Gignac, Loffreda, Marshall, Martin, Massicotte, Saint-Germain, Varone, Wallin and Yussuff (11).

Participating in the meeting: Brett Howard and Adriane Yong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the committee began its consideration of Bill C-244, An Act to amend the Copyright Act (diagnosis, maintenance and repair).

## WITNESSES:

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Patrick Blanar, Director, Copyright and Trademark Policy Directorate;

Luc Laforest, Senior Policy Analyst, Copyright and Trademark Policy Directorate.

## As an individual:

Wilson Miao, Member of Parliament, Richmond Centre, British Columbia, sponsor of the bill.

Wilson Miao made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:13 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:15 p.m., the committee resumed.

Patrick Blanar made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:37 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:39 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that each committee member be allowed to have one staff member present during the in camera portion of the meeting.

It was agreed that the committee allow the audio recording of the in camera portion of today's meeting, that one copy be kept with the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members and/or staff, and that the audio recording be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

At 5:46 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Sara Gajic

Clerk of the Committee