

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, October 9, 2024 (88)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Commerce and the Economy met this day at 4:18 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the deputy chair, the Honourable Tony Loffreda, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Deacon (Nova Scotia), Gignac, Loffreda, Marshall, Martin, Massicotte, Ringuette, Varone and Yussuff (10).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Fridhandler (1).

Participating in the meeting: Brett Howard and Adriane Yong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-244, An Act to amend the Copyright Act (diagnosis, maintenance and repair).

WITNESSES:

Global Automakers of Canada:

Lucas Malinowski, Director, Federal Affairs.

Associated Equipment Distributors:

Craig Drury, former chairman and Vice-President of Vermeer Canada Inc.

Entertainment Software Association of Canada:

Christina De Toni, Vice President, Policy & Government Affairs;

Marla Poor, Senior Corporate Counsel, Policy and Government Affairs, Nintendo of America (by videoconference).

Grain Growers of Canada:

Kyle Larkin, Executive Director;

Andre Harpe, Chair.

Automotive Industries Association of Canada:

Jean-François Champagne, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Chris Kinghorn, Vice President, Strategy and Growth, NAPA Canada and Traction/TruckPro Canada (UAP Inc.);

Daryll O'Keefe, Senior Vice-President, Fix Network Canada.

LKQ Corporation:

Tyler Threadgill, Vice-President, External Affairs (by videoconference).

Lucas Malinowski, Craig Drury, Christina De Toni, Andre Harpe, Jean-François Champagne, and Tyler Threadgill each made a statement and, together with Marla Poor, Kyle Larkin, Chris Kinghorn and Daryl O'Keefe, answered questions.

At 5:24 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:29 p.m., the committee resumed.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-294, An Act to amend the Copyright Act (interoperability).

WITNESSES:

Grain Growers of Canada:

Kyle Larkin, Executive Director;

Andre Harpe, Chair.

Automotive Industries Association of Canada:

Jean-François Champagne, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Chris Kinghorn, Vice President, Strategy and Growth, NAPA Canada and Traction/TruckPro Canada (UAP Inc.);

Daryll O'Keefe, Senior Vice-President, Fix Network Canada.

LKQ Corporation:

Tyler Threadgill, Vice-President, External Affairs (by videoconference).

Andre Harpe made a statement and, together with Kyle Larkin and Daryl O'Keefe, answered questions.

At 6:15 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Sara Gajic

Clerk of the Committee