

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Thursday, April 28, 2022 (7)

## [English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of March 31, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day in room W110, 1 Wellington Street, and with videoconference, at 9:04 a.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senator Patterson (1).

*Members of the committee present by videoconference:* The Honourable Senators Anderson, Arnot, Carignan, P.C., Galvez, Gignac, Massicotte, McCallum, Miville-Dechêne, Seidman and Sorensen (10).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Kutcher (1).

Participating in the meeting: Jodi Turner, Principal Clerk, Table Research; Sébastien Payet, Legislative Clerk and Louise Martel, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Sam Banks and Jesse Good, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, April 7, 2022, the committee began its examination of Bill S-5, Strengthening Environmental Protection for a Healthier Canada Act.

## APPEARING (by videoconference):

The Honourable Steven Guilbeault, P.C., M.P., Minister of Environment and Climate Change.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

## Environment and Climate Change Canada:

John Moffet, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch;

Laura Farquharson, Director General, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Environmental Protection Branch;

Jacqueline Gonçalves, Director General, Science and Risk Assessment, Science and Technology Branch.

Department of Justice Canada:

Gordon Hill, Senior Counsel.

Health Canada:

Greg Carreau, Director General, Safe Environments Directorate.

The minister made a statement and, together with John Moffet, Laura Farquharson, Jacqueline Gonçalves, Gordon Hill and Greg Carreau, answered questions.

At 10:31 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:33 a.m., the committee resumed.

At 11:03 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

**Chantal Cardinal** 

Clerk of the Committee