

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, November 30, 2023 (55)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 9:15 a.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Josée Verner, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Arnot, Audette, MacDonald, Massicotte, McCallum, Miville-Dechêne, Patterson (Nunavut), Verner, P.C., Wells and White (10).

Participating in the meeting: Mireille K. Aubé, Procedural Clerk, Committees Directorate; Jesse Good, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 26, 2023, the committee continued its examination of Bill S-14, An Act to amend the Canada National Parks Act, the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, the Rouge National Urban Park Act and the National Parks of Canada Fishing Regulations.

WITNESSES:

Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society:

Sandra Schwartz, National Executive Director;

Alison Woodley, Senior Strategic Advisor.

Innu Nation:

The Honourable Peter Penashue, P.C., Negotiator;

Larry Innes, Legal Counsel (by videoconference).

NunatuKavut Community Council:

Todd Russell, President;

Derek A. Simon, Legal Counsel (by videoconference).

As individuals:

Loretta Michelin, Chairperson, Nunatsiavut, Parks Canada Cooperative Management Board for the Akami-Uapishku-Kakkasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve (*by videoconference*);

Miles Anderson, Rancher Local, Grasslands National Park and Member, Canada's Nature Advisory Committee (by videoconference).

Loretta Michelin, Miles Anderson and Sandra Schwartz each made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:50 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:10 a.m., the committee resumed.

The Honourable Peter Penashue, P.C., and Todd Russell each made a statement and, together with Larry Innes and Derek A. Simon, answered questions.

At 11:18 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Raymond St. Martin

Acting Clerk of the Committee