

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, February 13, 2024 (58)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 6:31 p.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Arnot, Batters, Galvez, Massicotte, Miville-Dechêne, Sorensen, Verner, P.C., Wells and White (9).

Participating in the meeting: Jesse Good, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 24, 2022, the committee continued its study on emerging issues related to the committee's mandate. (Topic: Climate Change: Canadian Oil & Gas Industry)

WITNESSES:

Natural Resources Canada:

Erin O'Brien, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fuels Sector;

Drew Leyburne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Efficiency and Technology Sector.

Environment and Climate Change Canada:

John Moffet, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch;

Derek Hermanutz, Director General, Economic Analysis Directorate, Strategic Policy Branch;

Lindsay Pratt, Director, Pollutant Inventories and Reporting, Science and Technology Branch.

Canada Energy Regulator:

Jean-Denis Charlebois, Chief Economist.

Erin O'Brien, John Moffet and Jean-Denis Charlebois each made a statement and, together with Derek Hermanutz and Drew Leyburne, answered questions.

At 8:24 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Raymond St. Martin

Clerk of the Committee