

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 28, 2024 (67)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 6:34 p.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Cotter, Gerba, Massicotte, McBean, Miville-Dechêne, Sorensen, Tannas and Wells (8).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Oudar (1).

Participating in the meeting: Jesse Good, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, April 17, 2024, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-248, An Act to amend the Canada National Parks Act (Ojibway National Urban Park of Canada).

The Honourable Senator Wells moved that Bill C-248 be deferred for future consideration to when the committee returns later in the session.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the committee began its examination of the subject matter of those elements contained in Division 28 of Part 4 of Bill C-69, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 16, 2024.

WITNESSES:

Government of Alberta:

Mickey Amery, Minister of Justice (by videoconference).

Mining Association of Canada:

Pierre Gratton, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Tara Shea, Vice-President, Regulatory and Indigenous Affairs.

Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Bryan N. Detchou, Senior Director, Natural Resources, Environment and Sustainability.

Electricity Canada:

Francis Bradley, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Channa Perera, Vice-President, Regulatory and Indigenous Affairs.

Independent Contractors and Businesses Association:

Jock Finlayson, Chief Economist (by videoconference).

Mickey Amery and Pierre Gratton each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:23 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:27 p.m., the committee resumed.

Bryan N. Detchou, Francis Bradley and Jock Finlayson each made a statement, and together with Channa Perera, answered questions.

At 8:11 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Raymond St. Martin

Clerk of the Committee