

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Thursday, June 13, 2024 (72)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 9:15 a.m., in room W120, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Arnot, Cordy, Gold, P.C., Manning, Massicotte, McBean, McCallum, Miville-Dechêne, Petten, Robinson, Verner, P.C. and Wells (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Aucoin (1).

Participating in the meeting: Jesse Good, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, June 6, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-49, An Act to amend the Canada—Newfoundland and Labrador Atlantic Accord Implementation Act and the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Resources Accord Implementation Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES:

SeaBlue Canada:

Jennifer Josenhans, National Director (by videoconference).

Nova Scotia Fisheries Alliance for Energy Engagement:

Kris Vascotto, Manager (by videoconference).

East Coast Environmental Law Association:

Mike Kofahl, Staff Lawyer (by videoconference).

Fish, Food and Allied Workers Union (FFAW-Unifor):

Katie Power, Industry Relations Representative (by videoconference).

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador:

The Honourable Andrew Parsons, K.C., Minister, Industry, Energy and Technology (by videoconference).

Government of Nova Scotia:

The Honourable Tory Rushton, Minister of Natural Resources and Renewables.

Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board:

Christine Bonnell-Eisnor, Chief Executive Officer, Registrar.

Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board:

Scott Tessier, Chief Executive Officer.

International Union of Operating Engineers:

Steven Schumann, Director, Canadian Government Affairs.

Jennifer Josenhans, Mike Kofahl, Kris Vascotto and Katie Power each made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:06 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:12 a.m., the committee resumed.

At 10:13 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:15 a.m., the committee resumed.

Tory Rushton and Andrew Parsons each made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:22 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:26 a.m., the committee resumed.

Christine Bonnell-Eisnor, Scott Tessier and Steven Schumann each made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:06 p.m.,	the committee	adjourned to	the call o	f the chair.
----------------	---------------	--------------	------------	--------------

ATTEST:

Raymond St. Martin

Clerk of the Committee