

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, November 28, 2024 (86)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 9:01 a.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Anderson, Arnot, Massicotte, McCallum, Miville-Dechêne, Robinson, Verner, P.C., Wells (Newfoundland and Labrador) and Youance (9).

Participating in the meeting: Jesse Good and Avalon Jennings, analysts, Library of Parliament.

The Honourable Senator Massicotte moved that the Honourable Senator Galvez be chair of the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources, effective January 1, 2025.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 24, 2022, the committee continued its study on emerging issues related to the committee's mandate. (Topic: Climate Change: Canadian Oil & Gas Industry)

## WITNESSES:

Environment and Climate Change Canada:

Paola Mellow, Director General, Carbon Markets Bureau;

Magda Little, Director, Oil, Gas and Alternative Energy;

Lindsay Pratt, Director, Pollutant Inventories and Reporting;

Matthew Watkinson, Director, Regulatory Analysis and Valuation.

Natural Resources Canada:

Erin O'Brien, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fuels Sector;

Drew Leyburne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Efficiency and Technology Sector;

Scott Clausen, Director, Analysis and Operations Branch;

Darcy Blais, Deputy Director, Oil Markets and Fuel Security.

Statistics Canada:

Jennifer Withington, Assistant Chief Statistician, Economic Statistics;

Augustine Akuoko-Asibey, Director General, Agriculture, Energy and Environment Statistics Branch;

Heidi Ertl, Director, Centre for Energy and Transportation Statistics;

Ziad Ghanem, Acting Director General, Macroeconomic Accounts.

Jennifer Withington made a statement and, together with Paola Mellow, Magda Little, Matthew Watkinson, Erin O'Brien, Drew Leyburne, Augustine Akuoko-Asibey and Heidi Ertl, answered questions.

At 10:59 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ferda Simpson

Clerk of the Committee