

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, March 23, 2022 (6)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of November 25, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met this day in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference at 12:03 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Batters, Boisvenu, Clement, Cotter, Dalphond, Harder, P.C., Jaffer, Pate and Wallin (9).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Boniface, Campbell, Dupuis and Gold, P.C. (4).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Quinn and Tannas (2).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senator Arnot (1).

Participating in the meeting: Ferda Simpson, Procedural Clerk, Laurie-Anne Spooner, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Julian Walker and Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, March 1, 2022, the committee began its consideration of the motion regarding the taxation of the Canadian Pacific Railway in Saskatchewan.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Department of Justice Canada:

Nancy Othmer, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Law and Legislative Services;

Warren J. Newman, Senior General Counsel, Public Law;

Daniel Bourgeois, Senior General Counsel, Tax Law.

Privy Council Office:

Michael Vandergrift, Deputy Minister, Intergovernmental Affairs;

Louise Baird, Assistant Deputy Minister, Intergovernmental Affairs.

Government of Saskatchewan:

The Honourable Gordon S. Wyant, M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General;

Michelle Lang, Chief of Staff for the Honourable Gordon S. Wyant, Minister of Justice and Attorney General.

Rasmussen & Co, Barristers and Solicitors:

Merrilee Rasmussen, Lawyer.

Nancy Othmer, Michael Vandergrift, the Honourable Gordon S. Wyant and Merrilee Rasmussen each made a statement and, together with Warren J. Newman, Daniel Bourgeois, Louise Baird and Michelle Lang, answered questions.

At 1:53 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mark Palmer

Clerk of the Committee