

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 8, 2024 (100)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met this day at 5:38 p.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Batters, Carignan, P.C., Clement, Cotter, Dalphond, Gold, P.C., Jaffer, Klyne, McNair, Pate, Plett, Prosper, Simons and Tannas (14).

Participating in the meeting: Michaela Keenan-Pelletier and Iryna Zazulya, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, March 19, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of Bill S-15, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act.

WITNESSES:

Department of Justice Canada:

Joanna Wells, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Aleksander Godlewski, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Environment and Climate Change Canada:

Stephanie Lane, Executive Director, Legislative Governance;

Carolina Caseres, Director, International Biodiversity Policy.

The Honourable Senator Plett moved that the committee do not proceed with the clause-by-clause consideration of Bill S-15 until the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada appear before the committee.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was negatived on the following vote:

YEAS

The Honourable Senators

Batters, Carignan, Plett — [3]

NAYS

The Honourable Senators

Clement, Cotter, Dalphond, Gold, Jaffer, Klyne, McNair, Pate, Prosper, Simons, Tannas — [11]

ABSTENTIONS

NIL

The Honourable Senator Plett moved that the committee ask for the advice of the Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel regarding the letter received from African Lion Safari on May 8, 2024, before proceeding to clause-by-clause consideration of Bill S-15.

At 6:18 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee