

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, June 1, 2022 (16)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met this day in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 4:31 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Batters, Clement, Dalphond, Harder, P.C., Jaffer and Pate (6).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Boisvenu, Campbell, Cotter, Dupuis, Wetston and White (6).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Simons (1).

Participating in the meeting: Laurie-Anne Spooner, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Julian Walker and Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, May 4, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 1, 21 and 22 of Part 5 of Bill C-19, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 7, 2022 and other measures.

APPEARING (by videoconference):

The Honourable David Lametti, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Department of Justice Canada:

Warren J. Newman, Senior General Counsel, Public Law;

Michael Ezri, Senior Counsel, Ontario Regional Office Tax Law Division;

Nathalie Hébert, Senior Counsel - Team Leader, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Anna Dekker, Acting Director and General Counsel, Judicial Affairs Section, Public Law and Legislative Services Sector.

The minister made a statement and, together with Warren J. Newman, Michael Ezri, Nathalie Hébert and Anna Dekker, answered questions.

At 6:13 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:14 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to consider a draft agenda (future business).

At 6:17 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mark Palmer

Clerk of the Committee