

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, May 18, 2023 (59)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met this day at 11:31 a.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Brent Cotter, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Batters, Clement, Cotter, Dalphond, Klyne, Pate, Quinn, Simons and Tannas (9).

Participating in the meeting: Aoife Mc Donald, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Julian Walker and Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, April 27, 2023, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 30, 31, 34 and 39 of Part 4, and in Subdivision B of Division 3 of Part 4 of Bill C-47, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023.

APPEARING:

The Honourable David Lametti, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.

WITNESSES:

Department of Justice Canada:

Matthew Taylor, General Counsel and Director, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Erin Cassidy, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Jenifer Aitken, Assistant Deputy Minister, Central Agencies Portfolio.

Department of Finance Canada:

Erin Hunt, Director General, Financial Crimes and Security Division;

Charlene Davidson, Director, Financial Crimes Policy;

Mark Radley, Acting Director, Consumer Affairs;

Tanjana Islam, Analyst/Economist.

Financial Transactions and Report Analysis Centre of Canada:

Annette Ryan, Deputy Director, Partnership Policy and Analysis;

Karyne Merrick Moore, General Counsel.

The minister made a statement and, together with Matthew Taylor, Erin Cassidy, Jenifer Aitken and Mark Radley, answered questions.

At 12:29 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:33 p.m., the committee resumed.

Matthew Taylor, Erin Cassidy, Jenifer Aitken, Mark Radley and Annette Ryan answered questions.

At 1:09 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Jacques Maziade

Acting Clerk of the Committee