

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Thursday, October 5, 2023 (72)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met this day at 11:15 a.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Arnot, Batters, Boisvenu, Clement, Dalphond, Jaffer, Klyne, Pate, Patterson (*Nunavut*), Simons and Tannas (11).

*Participating in the meeting:* Aoife Mc Donald, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Michaela Keenan-Pelletier and Iryna Zazulya, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, September 21, 2023, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-48, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (bail reform).

WITNESSES:

Government of British Columbia:

The Honourable Niki Sharma, K.C., MLA, Attorney General of British Columbia (by videoconference).

Women's Legal Education and Action Fund:

Kat Owens, Project Director (by videoconference).

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies:

Emilie Coyle, Executive Director.

John Howard Society of Canada:

Catherine Latimer, Executive Director.

Native Women's Association of Canada:

Sarah Niman, Senior Director, Legal Services.

Association of Legal Aid Plans of Canada:

David Field, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Marcus Pratt, Policy Advisor.

As an individual:

Carolyn Yule, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, University of Guelph (by videoconference).

Niki Sharma made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:02 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:04 p.m., the committee resumed.

Kat Owens, Emilie Coyle and Catherine Latimer each made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:58 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 1:02 p.m., the committee resumed.

Sarah Niman, David Field and Carolyn Yule each made a statement and, together with Marcus Pratt, answered questions.

At 1:45 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee