

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, April 18, 2024 (97) [English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met this day at 11:48 a.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Batters, Carignan, P.C., Clement, Cotter, Dalphond, Jaffer, Klyne, McBean, Pate, Plett and Simons (11).

Participating in the meeting: Iryna Zazulya and Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, March 19, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of Bill S-15, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act.

WITNESSES:

The Whale Sanctuary Project:

Dr. Lori Marino, President and Neuroscientist in animal behaviour and intelligence (by videoconference).

Fauna Foundation:

Dr. Mary Lee Jensvold, Primate Communication Scientist (by videoconference).

Care for the Rare:

Dr. Jake Veasey, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Animal Welfare Scientist and Conservation Biologist.

Animal Justice:

Kaitlyn Mitchell, Director of Legal Advocacy (by videoconference).

As an individual:

Angela Fernandez, Full Professor, Faculty of Law and Department of History, University of Toronto.

Lori Marino, Mary Lee Jensvold and Jake Veasey each made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:48 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:50 p.m., the committee resumed.

Kaitlyn Mitchell and Angela Fernandez each made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:30 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 1:34 p.m., the committee resumed.

The Honourable Senator Batters moved that the committee visit the African Lion Safari Park as part of its study of Bill S-15.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was negatived on the following vote:

YEAS

The Honourable Senators

Batters, Carignan, Plett — [3]

NAYS

The Honourable Senators

Clement, Cotter, Dalphond, Jaffer, Klyne, McBean, Pate, Simons — [8]

ABSTENTIONS

NIL

At 1:47 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee