

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 21, 2024 (103)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 9:01 a.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Claude Carignan, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Carignan, P.C., Dalphond, Deacon (Ontario), Forest, Gignac, Kingston, Loffreda, Marshall, Pate, Ross and Smith (11).

Participating in the meeting: Shaowei Pu and André Léonard, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, March 19, 2024, the committee continued its examination of the expenditures set out in the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2025, with the exception of Library of Parliament Vote 1.

WITNESSES:

Environment and Climate Change Canada:

Linda Drainville, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services and Finance Branch;

John Moffet, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada:

Richard Goodyear, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer;

Todd Williams, Acting Director General, Fisheries and Resource Management;

Katia Jollez, Director General, Priorities, Engagement and Planning;

Kathy Graham, Director General, Marine Planning and Conservation;

Stephanie Hopper, Director General, Small Craft Harbours (by videoconference);

Doug Wentzell, Regional Director General, Maritimes Region (by videoconference).

Transport Canada:

Louis Desmeules, Director General, Finances and Deputy Chief Financial Officer, Financial Planning & Resource Management;

Vincent Robitaille, Assistant Deputy Minister, High Frequency Rail;

Craig Hutton, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy;

Joshua LaRocque, Director General, Transportation Infrastructure Programs;

Lisa Setlakwe, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security.

Natural Resources Canada:

Francis Brisson, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Management and Services Sector;

Christina Paradiso, Director General, Energy Policy Branch;

Anna Van der Kamp, Executive Director, Transportation and Fuels Decarbonization Programs;

Kimberly Lavoie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Nokwewashk;

Glenn Hargrove, Assistant Deputy Minister, Canadian Forest Service;

Drew Leyburne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Efficiency and Technology Sector.

Linda Drainville, Richard Goodyear, Louis Desmeules and Francis Brisson each made a statement and, together with Todd Williams, Stephanie Hopper, John Moffet, Glenn Hargrove, Anna Van der Kamp, Doug Wentzell, Lisa Setlakwe, Katia Jollez, Drew Leyburne, Joshua LaRocque and Craig Hutton, answered questions.

At 10:59 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee