

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, June 4, 2024 (107)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 9:02 a.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Claude Carignan, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Carignan, P.C., Dalphond, Forest, Galvez, Gignac, Kingston, Loffreda, MacAdam, Marshall, Pate, Ross and Smith (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Oudar (1).

Participating in the meeting: Shaowei Pu and André Léonard, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of all of Bill C-69, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 16, 2024.

WITNESSES:

Department of Finance Canada:

Robert Demeter, Director General, Tax Legislation Division;

Pierre Leblanc, Director General, Personal Income Tax;

Jenna Robbins, Senior Director, Strategic Planning and Policy, Business Income Tax Division;

Shane Baddeley, Director, Economic Development;

Tyler Minty, Director, Industrial Decarbonisation Taxation;

Peter Repetto, Senior Director, International Tax;

David Messier, Director, International Taxation Section, Business Income Tax Division;

Jack Glick, Acting Director, Excise Policy;

Amanda Riddell, Director, Real Property and Financial Institutions;

Nina Gormanns, Director, Environmental Taxation and Policy;

Charles Perreault, Senior Director, Reserves Management;

Alexander Bonnyman, Director, Debt Management;

Darren Mason, Director, International Monetary and Financial Policy;

Nicolas Marion, Senior Director, Payments Policy;

Philippe Hall, Director, Multilateral Institutions;

Galen Countryman, Director General, Federal-Provincial Relations Division;

Kathleen Wrye, Director, Pensions Policy;

Christian Cioffi, Analyst, Pensions Policy;

Judith Hamel, Director General, Financial Services Division;

Graham Page, Analyst, Financial Services Innovation;

Anne Loosen, Senior Advisor, Consumer Affairs;

Erin Hunt, Director General, Financial Crimes and Security Division;

Justin Brown, Senior Director, Financial Crimes Policy;

Anne David, Senior Director, Asset Management, Crown Investment and Asset Management;

Barbara Russell, Director, Competition and Strategic Initiatives;

Yves Dushimimana, Senior Economist, Framework Policy.

Department of Justice Canada:

Kenyatta Hawthorne, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Financial Transactions and Report Analysis Centre of Canada:

Patricia Bennett, Manager, Partnership, Policy and Analysis.

Pierre Leblanc, Jenna Robbins, Robert Demeter, Judith Hamel, Graham Page, Galen Countryman, Nicolas Marion, Erin Hunt, Patricia Bennett, Justin Brown, Alexander Bonnyman, Shane Baddeley and Peter Repetto answered questions.

At 11:03 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee