

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 10, 2022 (13)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day in room W110, 1 Wellington Street, and with videoconference, at 9:31 a.m., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators, Dagenais, Galvez, Gerba, Marshall and Pate (5).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Duncan, Forest, Gignac, Loffreda, Mockler, Moncion and Richards (7).

Participating in the meeting: Kalina Waltos, Procedural Clerk and Annie Trudel, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Shaowei Pu and Michaël Lambert-Racine, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 3, 2022, the committee continued its examination of the expenditures set out in the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2023.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Global Affairs Canada:

Anick Ouellette, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Planning, Finance and Information Technology Branch;

Annie Boyer, Director General, Financial Planning and Management, and Deputy Chief Financial Officer;

Sue Szabo, Director General, Innovative and Climate Finance Bureau;

Megan Cain, Acting Director General, Health and Nutrition;

Andrew Smith, Director General, International Assistance Policy;

Tara Denham, Director General, Ukraine Strategic Action Team.

## Infrastructure Canada:

Nathalie Bertrand, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services;

Alison O'Leary, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Communities and Infrastructure Programs;

Gerard Peets, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Results;

Glenn Campbell, Assistant Deputy Minister, Investment, Partnerships and Innovation Branch;

Janet Goulding, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Policy and Programs Branch.

## National Capital Commission:

Véronique de Passillé, Acting Vice-President, Public, Legal and Corporate Affairs;

Tobi Nussbaum, Chief Executive Officer;

Alain Le Quéré, Chief Corporate Financial Management.

## Environment and Climate Change Canada:

Douglas Nevison, Assistant Deputy Minister, Climate Change Branch;

John Moffet, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch;

Linda Drainville, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services and Finance Branch;

Hilary Geller, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch;

Tara Shannon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch;

Catherine Stewart, Assistant Deputy Minister, International Affairs Branch.

Anick Ouellette, Nathalie Bertrand, Tobi Nussbaum and Linda Drainville each made a statement and, together with Gerard Peets, Alison O'Leary, Sue Szabo, Douglas Nevison, Janet Goulding, John Moffet, Glenn Campbell, Andrew Smith and Véronique de Passilé, answered questions.

At 11:30 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee