

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 31, 2022 (15)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day in room W110, 1 Wellington Street, and with videoconference, at 9:30 a.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Boehm, Dagenais, Duncan, Marshall and Pate (5).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Forest, Gerba, Loffreda, Mockler, Moncion and Richards (6).

Participating in the meeting: Sébastien Payet, Procedural Clerk and Annie Trudel, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Shaowei Pu and Michaël Lambert-Racine, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, May 4, 2022, the committee began its consideration of the subject matter of all of Bill C-19, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 7, 2022 and other measures.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Department of Finance Canada:

Mark Maxson, Director, Employment and Education;

Trevor McGowan, Director General, Tax Legislation Division;

Lindsay Gwyer, Director General, Legislation, Tax Legislation Division;

Shane Baddeley, Director, Economic Development;

Lesley Taylor, Senior Director, Social Tax Policy, Tax Policy Branch;

Max Baylor, Director General, Business Income Tax Division;

Jenna Robbins, Senior Director, Strategic Planning and Policy;

Blaine Langdon, Director, Charities, Personal Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch;

Ling Wang, Senior Director, Financial Programs and Strategy;

Oliver Rogerson, Director, Resources, Environment and Special Projects;

Phil King, Director General, Sales Tax Division;

Amanda Riddell, Director, Real Property and Financial Institutions;

Carlos Achadinha, Senior Director, Public Sector Bodies;

Jack Glick, Senior Advisor, Sales Tax Division;

Darren D'Sa, Advisor, Tax Policy;

David Turner, Senior Advisor, Sales Tax Division.

Lindsay Gwyer, Amanda Riddell, Carlos Achadinha, Jack Glick, Darren D'Sa and David Turner made a statement and, together with Phil King, Oliver Rogerson, Ling Wang, Mark Maxson, Lesley Taylor, Shane Baddeley and Blaine Langdon, answered questions.

At 11:26 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee