

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, June 7, 2022 (19)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 3 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Dagenais, Duncan, Gerba, Gignac, Loffreda, Marshall, Moncion, Pate and Richards (10).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Forest and Mockler (2).

Participating in the meeting: Vincent Labrosse, Procedural Clerk and Annie Trudel, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Shaowei Pu and Michaël Lambert-Racine, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, June 1, 2022, the committee continued its examination of the expenditures set out in the Supplementary Estimates (A) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2023.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Indigenous Services Canada:

Philippe Thompson, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer;

Keith Conn, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Paula Hadden-Jokiel, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Offices;

Kelley Blanchette, Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Economic Development;

Catherine Lappe, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Family Services Reform Sector;

David Peckham, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs Sector and Partnerships Sector.

Public Health Agency of Canada:

- Martin Krumins, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer, Chief Financial Officer and Corporate Management Branch;
- Joel Denis, Acting Vice-President, Infectious Disease and Prevention and Control Branch;

Martin Joyal, Director General, Strategic Policy, Planning and Coordination, COVID-19 Vaccine Rollout Task Force.

Public Safety Canada:

Mauricette Howlett, Director General, Programs, Emergency Management and Programs Branch.

Canadian Air Transport Security Authority:

Nancy Fitchett, Vice-President, Corporate Affairs and Chief Financial Officer;

Kelsey MacTavish, Senior Director, Operations.

Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Lieutenant-General Frances Allen, Vice Chief of the Defence Staff;

Cheri Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Finance) and Chief Financial Officer;

Troy Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Materiel).

Philippe Thompson, Martin Krumins, Mauricette Howlett, Cheri Crosby and Nancy Fitchett each made a statement and, together with Kelsey MacTavish, Joel Denis, Keith Conn and Martin Joyal, answered questions.

At 5:05 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee