

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, October 18, 2022 (26)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 9:01 a.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Bovey, Duncan, Gignac, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Pate and Smith (9).

Participating in the meeting: Tracy Amendola, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Shaowei Pu and Sylvain Fleury, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 3, 2022, the committee continued its examination of expenditures set out in the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2023.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Department of Finance Canada:

Christopher Veilleux, Director General, Financial Management Directorate and Chief Financial Officer;

Rhys Mendes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Policy Branch;

Evelyn Dancey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fiscal Policy Branch;

Miodrag Jovanovic, Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch;

Alison McDermott, Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch;

Samuel Millar, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development Branch;

Marie-Josée Lambert, Acting Director General, Crown Investment and Asset Management;

Patrick Halley, Assistant Deputy Minister, International Trade and Finance Branch;

Julien Brazeau, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch.

Canada Revenue Agency:

Hugo Pagé, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch;

Cathy Hawara, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Programs Branch;

Marc Lemieux, Assistant Commissioner, Collections and Verification Branch;

Gillian Pranke, Assistant Commissioner, Assessment, Benefit and Service Branch;

Harry Gill, Assistant Commissioner, Security Branch and CRA Security Officer;

Maxime Guénette, Assistant Commissioner, Service, Innovation and Integration Branch.

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Annie Boudreau, Assistant Secretary, Expenditure Management Sector;

Monia Lahaie, Assistant Comptroller General, Financial Management Sector, Office of the Comptroller General.

Hugo Pagé, Annie Boudreau, Alison McDermott and Christopher Veilleux each made a statement and, together with Rhys Mendes, Miodrag Jovanovic, Patrick Halley, Julien Brazeau, Cathy Hawara, Marc Lemieux, Gillian Pranke, Maxime Guénette and Monia Lahaie, answered questions.

At 10:51 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee