

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, October 19, 2022 (27)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:47 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Bovey, Duncan, Gignac, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Pate and Smith (9).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Audette (1).

Participating in the meeting: Tracy Amendola, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Shaowei Pu and Sylvain Fleury, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 3, 2022, the committee continued its examination of expenditures set out in the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2023.

WITNESSES:

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

Darlene Bess, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer;

Garima Dwivedi, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolutions & Partnerships;

Georgina Lloyd, Director General, Implementation Branch (by videoconference);

Eric Marion, Director General, Fiscal Branch, Treaties and Aboriginal Government (by videoconference);

Wayne Walsh, Assistant Deputy Minister, Northern Affairs (by videoconference);

Chantal Marin-Comeau, Director General, Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, Policy and Strategic Direction (by videoconference);

Kate Ledgerwood, Director General, Reconciliation Secretariat, Policy and Strategic Direction (by videoconference);

Stefan Matiation, Director General, Specific Claims Branch, Resolution and Partnerships (by videoconference).

Indigenous Services Canada:

Philippe Thompson, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer Sector;

Marc Geoffrion, Director General, Planning and Resource Management, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer Sector;

Keith Conn, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch (by videoconference);

Paula Hadden-Jokiel, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations Sector (by videoconference);

David Peckham, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs Sector and Partnerships Sector (by videoconference);

Jessica Sultan, Director General, Economic and Business Opportunities Branch (by videoconference).

Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency:

Margaret Buist, Vice-President, Policy, Planning, Communications and NPMO (by videoconference).

Darlene Bess, Philippe Thompson and Margaret Buist each made a statement and, together with Garima Dwivedi, Georgina Lloyd, Eric Marion, Wayne Walsh, Chantal Marin-Comeau, Keith Conn, Paula Hadden-Jokiel and David Peckham, answered questions.

At 8:43 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee