

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, October 25, 2022 (28)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 9:01 a.m., in room W120, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Anderson, Boehm, Dagenais, Duncan, Harder, P.C., Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Omidvar, Pate and Smith (11).

Participating in the meeting: Tracy Amendola, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Shaowei Pu and Sylvain Fleury, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 20, 2022, the committee began its examination of the subject matter of Bill C-31, An Act respecting cost of living relief measures related to dental care and rental housing.

WITNESSES:

Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer:

Yves Giroux, Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Carleigh Busby, Advisor-Analyst;

Nasreddine Ammar, Advisor-Analyst.

Canada Revenue Agency:

Gillian Pranke, Assistant Commissioner, Assessment, Benefit and Service Branch (by videoconference);

Heather Daniels, Director General, Benefit Programs Directorate, Assessment & Benefit Services Branch (by videoconference). Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation:

Nadine Leblanc, Senior Vice President, Policy (by videoconference);

Patricia Roset-Zuppa, Vice President, Policy Development (by videoconference).

Health Canada:

Lynne Tomson, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch (by videoconference);

Lindy VanAmburg, Director General, Dental Care Task Force (by videoconference).

Public Health Agency of Canada:

James Taylor, Chief Dental Officer, Government of Canada (by videoconference).

Yves Giroux made a statement and, together with Carleigh Busby and Nasreddine Ammar, answered questions.

At 10 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:02 a.m., the committee resumed.

Gillian Pranke, Nadine Leblanc, Lynne Tomson and James Taylor each made a statement and, together with Heather Daniels, Patricia Roset-Zuppa and Lindy VanAmburg, answered questions.

At 11:03 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee