

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, November 29, 2022 (36)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 8:32 a.m., in room W120, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Bovey, Dagenais, Duncan, Gignac, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Moncion, Omidvar and Smith (11).

Participating in the meeting: Tracy Amendola, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Shaowei Pu and Sylvain Fleury, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, November 17, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-32, An Act to implement certain provisions of the fall economic statement tabled in Parliament on November 3, 2022 and certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 7, 2022.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Alex Gray, Senior Director, Fiscal and Financial Services Policy.

Canadian Federation of Independent Business:

Dan Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association:

Ivette Vera-Perez, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Energy Storage Canada:

Justin Wahid Rangooni, Executive Director;

Jim Fonger, Canadian Vice President, Asset and Advanced Technology Development at Ameresco.

Alex Gray and Dan Kelly each made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:47 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:54 a.m., the committee resumed.

Ivette Vera-Perez made a statement, Justin Wahid Rangooni and Jim Fonger made a statement together and all answered questions.

At 10:12 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:16 a.m., the committee resumed.

The chair informed Justin Wahid Rangooni that he had to be interrupted due to the lack of simultaneous interpretation. Justin Wahid Rangooni was dismissed.

The committee continued questioning witnesses.

At 11:02 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee