

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, April 19, 2023 (53)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:48 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Dagenais, Duncan, Galvez, Gignac, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Moncion, Pate and Smith (11).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Cardozo (1).

Participating in the meeting: Shaowei Pu and Sylvain Fleury, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, March 7, 2023, the committee continued its examination of the expenditures set out in the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2024.

WITNESSES:

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Samantha Hazen, Chief Financial Officer;

Bryan Larkin, Deputy Commissioner, Specialized Policing Services.

Public Safety Canada:

Patrick Amyot, Assistant Deputy Minister, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Security Officer;

Sébastien Aubertin-Giguère, Assistant Deputy Minister, National and Cyber Security Branch;

John McKinley, Comptroller and Deputy Chief Financial Officer;

Robert Burley, Executive Director, Canada Centre for Community Engagement & Prevention of Violence;

Greg Kenney, Assistant Deputy Minister, Firearms Program;

Doug May, Senior Director, Programs, Emergency Management and Programs Branch;

Craig Oldham, Director General, Program Development and Intergovernmental Affairs Directorate;

Chris Moran, Assistant Deputy Minister, Indigenous Secretariat.

Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Cheri Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Finance) and Chief Financial Officer;

Troy Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Materiel);

Major-General Blaise Frawley, Deputy Vice Chief of the Defence Staff;

Major-General Simon Bernard, Director General Military Personnel — Strategic.

Samatha Hazen, Patrick Amyot and Cheri Crosby each made a statement and, together with Bryan Larkin, Troy Crosby, Major-General Blaise Frawley, Bryan Larkin, Doug May, Sébastien Aubertin-Giguère, Major-General Simon Bernard and Craig Oldham, answered questions.

At 8:53 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee