

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 9, 2023 (59)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 9:15 a.m., in room W120, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Dagenais, Duncan, Forest, Galvez, Gignac, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Pate, Shugart, P.C. and Smith (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Gold, P.C. (1).

Participating in the meeting: Tracy Amendola, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Shaowei Pu and Sylvain Fleury, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, May 3, 2023, the committee began its consideration of Bill C-46, An Act to amend the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act and the Income Tax Act.

APPEARING:

The Honourable Randy Boissonnault, P.C., M.P, Associate Minister of Finance.

WITNESSES:

Department of Finance Canada:

Pierre Leblanc, Director General, Personal Income Tax Division;

Galen Countryman, Director General, Federal-Provincial Relations Division.

The associate minister made a statement and, together with Pierre Leblanc and Galen Countryman, answered questions.

At 10:21 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:23 a.m., the committee resumed.

Pierre Leblanc and Galen Countryman answered questions.

At 10:35 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:38 a.m., the committee resumed.

It was agreed that the committee proceed to clause-by-clause consideration of Bill C-46.

It was agreed that the title stand postponed.

It was agreed that clause 1, which contains the short title, stand postponed.

It was agreed that clause 2 carry.

It was agreed that clause 3 carry.

It was agreed that clause 1, which contains the short title, carry.

It was agreed that the title carry.

It was agreed that the bill carry.

It was agreed that the chair report Bill C-46, without amendment, to the Senate, at the earliest opportunity.

At 10:49 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee