

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, November 1st, 2023 (78)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:45 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the deputy chair, the Honourable Éric Forest, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Dagenais, Forest, Gignac, MacAdam, Marshall, Pate and Smith (7).

Participating in the meeting: André Léonard and Shaowei Pu, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, March 7, 2023, the committee continued its examination of expenditures set out in the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2024.

WITNESSES:

Parks Canada:

Catherine Blanchard, Vice-President Finance;

Jewel Cunningham, Vice-President Strategic Policy and Planning;

Andrew Campbell, Senior Vice-President, Operations;

David Millar, Vice-President Real Property and Assets.

Natural Resources Canada:

Glenn Hargrove, Assistant Deputy Minister, Canadian Forest Service;

Erin O'Brien, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fuels Sector;

Drew Leyburne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Efficiency and Technology Sector;

Kimberley Zinck, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Nokwewashk;

Christina Paradiso, Director General, Energy Policy Branch;

Grace Chennette, Deputy Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Management and Services Sector.

Environment and Climate Change Canada:

Linda Drainville, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services and Finance Branch;

John Moffet, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch;

Tara Shannon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Canadian Wildlife Service;

Sandra McCardell, Assistant Deputy Minister, International Affairs Branch;

Jesse Fleming, Director General, Programs Directorate, Climate Change Branch.

Catherine Blanchard, Grace Chennette and Linda Drainville each made a statement and, together with Glenn Hargrove, Drew Leyburne, Andrew Campbell, David Millar, John Moffet, Jewel Cunningham and Sandra McCardell, answered questions.

At 8:24 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee