

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, February 27, 2024 (91)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 9:08 a.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Forest, Gignac, Kingston, Loffreda, MacAdam, Marshall, Mockler, Pate, Ross and Smith (10).

Participating in the meeting: Shaowei Pu and Michaël Lambert-Racine, analysts, Library of Parliament.

The Honourable Senator Marshall moved that the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance requests the Parliamentary Budget Officer to analyze the composition of corporate income tax from 2020-21 to 2028-29, by sector.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

The Honourable Senator Pate moved that at the next meeting, the committee proceed to clause-by-clause consideration of Bill S-233.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 8, 2024, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of Bill C-59, An Act to implement certain provisions of the fall economic statement tabled in Parliament on November 21, 2023 and certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023.

WITNESSES:

Department of Finance Canada:

Lindsay Gwyer, Director General, Legislation, Tax Legislation Division;

Robert Demeter, Director General, Tax Legislation Division;

Max Baylor, Director General, Business Income Tax Division;

Pierre Leblanc, Director General, Personal Income Tax Division;

James Greene, Senior Executive Advisor, Tax Policy Branch;

Ingrid Defreitas, Director, International Inbound Investment, Tax Legislation Division;

Pierre Mercille, Director General, Sales Tax Legislation;

Amanda Riddell, Director, Real Property and Financial Institutions;

Warren Light, Expert Advisor, Real Property and Financial Institutions;

Dominic DiFruscio, Director, General Operations and Border Issues;

Nina Gormanns, Director, Environmental Taxation and Policy;

Gervais Coulombe, Acting Director General, Sales Tax Division;

Jack Glick, Acting Director, Excise Policy.

Lindsay Gwyer, James Greene and Pierre Mercille each made a statement and, together with Max Baylor, Pierre Leblanc and Amanda Riddell, answered questions.

At 11:02 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee