

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Wednesday, March 20, 2024 (94)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:47 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Dalphond, Forest, Galvez, Gignac, Kingston, Loffreda, MacAdam, Marshall, Mockler, Pate, Ross and Smith (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Carignan, P.C. (1).

Participating in the meeting: Shaowei Pu and André Léonard, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 8, 2024, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of Bill C-59, An Act to implement certain provisions of the fall economic statement tabled in Parliament on November 21, 2023 and certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023.

## WITNESSES:

Canadian Anti-Monopoly Project:

Keldon Bester, Executive Director.

Dow Canada:

W. Scott Thurlow, Senior Advisor, Government Affairs.

Electricity Canada:

Francis Bradley, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Derek Smith, Vice-President, Corporate Tax, Emera Inc., Member, Electricity Canada (by videoconference).

Canadian Gas Association:

Paul Cheliak, Vice-President, Strategy and Delivery.

Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Matthew Holmes, Senior Vice-President, Policy and Government Relations;

Jessica Brandon-Jepp, Senior Director, Fiscal and Financial Services Policy.

Canadian Cancer Society:

Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst;

Helena Sonea, Director, Advocacy.

Imperial Tobacco Canada Ltd:

Eric Gagnon, Vice-President, Corporate and Regulatory Affairs.

Clean Prosperity:

Brendan Frank, Director, Policy and Strategy.

Fintechs Canada:

Alexander Vronces, Executive Director.

Keldon Bester, W. Scott Thurlow, Francis Bradley, Paul Cheliak, Matthew Holmes, Alexander Vronces, Eric Gagnon, Brendan Frank and Rob Cunningham, each made a statement and, together with Derek Smith, answered questions.

At 8:55 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee