

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, April 10, 2024 (96)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:46 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Dalphond, Galvez, Gignac, Kingston, LaBoucane-Benson, Loffreda, MacAdam, Marshall, Mockler, Moncion, Ross and Smith (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Carignan, P.C., and Oudar (2).

Participating in the meeting: Shaowei Pu and André Léonard, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Monday, February 26, 2024, the committee continued its examination of the Supplementary Estimates (C) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2024.

WITNESSES:

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Annie Boudreau, Assistant Secretary, Expenditure Management Sector;

Carole Bidal, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Employee Relations and Total Compensation;

Stephen Burt, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Digital Policy and Performance;

Karen Cahill, Assistant Secretary and Chief Financial Officer;

Emilio Franco, Executive Director, Procurement, Materiel, and Communities Directorate;

Rod Greenough, Senior Director, Expenditure Strategies and Estimates.

Department of Finance Canada:

Christopher Veilleux, Chief Financial Officer;

Evelyn Dancey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fiscal Policy Branch;

Alison McDermott, Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch;

Nelson Paterson, Director General, Economic Studies and Policy Analysis Division, Economic Policy Branch.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

Nathalie Manseau, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer;

Soyoung Park, Assistant Deputy Minister, Asylum and Refugee Resettlement;

Darcy Pierlot, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery.

Indigenous Services Canada:

Philippe Thompson, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer;

Candice St-Aubin, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Danielle White, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy and Partnerships Sector;

Paula Hadden-Jokiel, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations Sector.

Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Cheri Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Finance) and Chief Financial Officer;

Nancy Tremblay, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Materiel.

Annie Boudreau, Christopher Veilleux, Nathalie Manseau, Philippe Thompson and Cheri Crosby each made a statement and, together with Stephen Burt, Nancy Tremblay, Carole Bidal, Darcy Pierlot, Candice St-Aubin and Paula Hadden-Jokiel, answered questions.

The Honourable Senator Mockler moved that the Honourable Senator Carignan, subject to his addition to the membership of the Senate Committee on National Finance, be elected chair of this committee effective April 14, 2024, to replace the Honourable Senator Mockler.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

At 8:36 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee