

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, April 30, 2024 (99)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 9 a.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Claude Carignan, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Carignan, P.C., Dalphond, Galvez, Gignac, Loffreda, MacAdam, Marshall, Pate, Ross and Smith (10).

Participating in the meeting: Shaowei Pu and André Léonard, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, March 19, 2024, the committee continued its examination of the expenditures set out in the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2025, with the exception of Library of Parliament Vote 1.

WITNESSES:

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Karine Paré, Director General and Deputy Chief Financial Officer;

Mark Schaan, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Innovation Policy Sector;

Stephanie Tanton, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Innovation Fund;

Jean-Philippe Lapointe, Director General, Business Development and Strategy, Strategic Innovation Fund.

Canada Revenue Agency:

Hugo Pagé, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch;

Cathy Hawara, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Programs Branch;

Marc Lemieux, Assistant Commissioner, Collections and Verification Branch;

Gillian Pranke, Assistant Commissioner, Assessment, Benefit and Service Branch;

Isabelle Brault, Director General, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch.

Department of Finance Canada:

Christopher Veilleux, Chief Financial Officer;

Greg Reade, Assistant Deputy Minister, Crown Investment and Asset Management Branch;

Julie Turcotte, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Policy Branch;

Evelyn Dancey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fiscal Policy Branch;

Alison McDermott, Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch.

Karine Paré, Hugo Pagé and Christopher Veilleux each made a statement and, together with Mark Schaan, Cathy Hawara, Gillian Pranke, Jean-Philippe Lapointe, Marc Lemieux, Stephanie Tanton, Evelyn Dancey and Julie Turcotte, answered questions.

At 11:03 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Mireille K. Aubé

Clerk of the Committee