

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, October 23, 2023 (38)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages met this day at 5 p.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable René Cormier, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Cormier, Mégie, Moncion and Poirier (5).

Participating in the meeting: Catlin Seibel-Kamél, Legislative Clerk, Committees Directorate; Marie-Ève Hudon, Analyst, Library of Parliament; Jérémie Spadafora, Communications Officer, Communications, Broadcasting and Publications Directorate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, December 14, 2021, the committee continued its study of the application of the Official Languages Act and of the regulations and directives made under it, within those institutions subject to the Act. (Topic: Annual report 2022-2023)

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 9, 2023, the committee continued its study of matters relating to minority-language health services.

WITNESSES:

Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages:

Raymond Théberge, Commissioner of Official Languages;

Isabelle Gervais, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Assurance Branch;

Pierre Leduc, Assistant Commissioner, Policy and Communications Branch.

Raymond Théberge made a statement and, together with Isabelle Gervais, answered questions.

At 5:59 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:02 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that senators' staff be permitted to remain in the room during the in camera portion of the meeting.

It was agreed that the committee allow the transcription of the in camera portion of today's meeting, that one copy be kept with the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members and/or staff, and that the transcript be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

At 6:39 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Karine Déquier

Clerk of the Committee