

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, February 7, 2022 (2)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of November 25, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights met this day in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 5 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, presiding.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Ataullahjan, Audette, Bernard, Boyer, Gerba, Griffin, Hartling and Omidvar (8).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Miville-Dechêne and Pate (2).

Participating in the meeting: Andrea Mugny, Procedural Clerk, Marc-André Lanthier, Lori Meldrum, and Martine Willox, administrative assistants, Committees Directorate; Robert Mason and Brendan Naef, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, December 14, 2021, the committee began its consideration of Bill S-211, An Act to enact the Fighting Against Forced Labour and Child Labour in Supply Chains Act and to amend the Customs Tariff.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

The Honourable Senator Julie Miville-Dechêne, sponsor of the bill.

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Andrew Brown, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labour Program;

Rakesh Patry, Director General, International and Intergovernmental Labour Affairs, Labour Program.

Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Michael Harvey, Vice President, Policy and International.

Mining Association of Canada:

Ben Chalmers, Senior Vice President;

Geoff Smith, Vice President, Government Relations.

The Honourable Senator Miville-Dechêne made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:29 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:30 p.m., the committee resumed.

Rakesh Patry made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:03 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:05 p.m., the committee resumed.

Michael Harvey and Geoff Smith each made a statement and, together with Ben Chalmers, answered questions.

At 6:56 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee