

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, March 28, 2022 (5)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of November 25, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights met this day in room B30, Senate of Canada Building and with videoconference at 5:04 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Ataullahjan, Audette and Miville-Dechêne (3).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Boyer, Gerba and Hartling (4).

Participating in the meeting: Andrea Mugny, Procedural Clerk, Sébastien Payet and Martine Willox, legislative clerks, Committees Directorate; Robert Mason and Brendan Naef, analysts, Library of Parliament; Ben Silverman, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, December 14, 2021, the committee continued its consideration of Bill S-211, An Act to enact the Fighting Against Forced Labour and Child Labour in Supply Chains Act and to amend the Customs Tariff.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

As individuals:

Peter Talibart, Lawyer, Seyfarth Shaw (UK) LLP;

Surya Deva, Member, United Nations Working Group on Business and Human Rights;

Nicole Barrett, Director, International Justice and Human Rights Clinic, Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia;

Lauryn Boag, Student Clinician, International Justice and Human Rights Clinic, Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia;

- Letty Condon, Student Clinician, International Justice and Human Rights Clinic, Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia;
- Adam Snyder, Student Clinician, International Justice and Human Rights Clinic, Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia.
- Peter Talibart and Surya Deva each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:12 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:14 p.m., the committee resumed.

Nicole Barrett made a statement and, together with Lauryn Boag, Letty Condon and Adam Snyder, answered questions.

At 6:55 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee