

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Monday, November 6, 2023 (45)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights met this day at 4:37 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Ataullahjan, Gerba, Hartling, Jaffer, Lankin, P.C., and Omidvar (6).

Participating in the meeting: Robert Mason, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 3, 2022, the committee continued its study of such issues as may arise from time to time relating to human rights generally. (Topic: Forced Global Displacement)

WITNESSES:

Pairity:

Craig Damian Smith, Co-Founder, Executive Director and Principal Investigator.

Migration Policy Institute:

Andrew Selee, President (by videoconference).

## As individuals:

James C. Hathaway, Professor of Law, Founding Director of the Program in Refugee and Asylum Law, University of Michigan;

Camila Bustos, Assistant Professor of Law, Pace University;

Monica Iyer, Clinical Fellow, International Human Rights Clinic, Duke Law School (*by videoconference*);

Julie Young, Canada Research Chair (Tier 2) in Critical Border Studies and Associate Professor, University of Lethbridge (*by videoconference*).

The Honourable Senator Jaffer moved that notwithstanding usual practice, pursuant to rule 12-17, the committee be authorized to hold this afternoon's meeting without a quorum if necessary for the purpose of receiving evidence, provided that two committee members are present.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Craig Damian Smith and James C. Hathaway each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:36 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:43 p.m., the committee resumed.

Camila Bustos and Monica Iyer each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:26 p.m., the Honourable Senator Hartling took the chair.

At 6:27 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:45 p.m., the committee resumed.

Julie Young and Andrew Selee each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:36 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Sébastien Payet

Clerk of the Committee