

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, November 18, 2024 (59)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights met this day at 5:06 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Arnot, Ataullahjan, Bernard, Gerba, Muggli and Osler (6).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Youance (1).

Participating in the meeting: Robert Mason and Madalina Chesoi, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 3, 2022, the committee continued its study of such issues as may arise from time to time relating to human rights generally. (Topic: Aging Out of Foster Care)

WITNESSES:

Manitoba Advocate for Children and Youth's Office:

Sherry Gott, Advocate for Children and Youth (by videoconference).

Office of the New Brunswick Child and Youth Advocate:

Kelly A. Lamrock, Child and Youth Advocate (by videoconference).

Office of the Representative for Children and Youth of British Columbia:

Jennifer Charlesworth, Representative for Children and Youth (by videoconference);

Jennifer Dreyer, Executive Director, Systemic Advocacy, First Nations, Metis and Inuit Research (by videoconference).

Montreal Haitian Community Office:

Marie Suzie Casséus, Manager of Option Protection Program;

Marie Pierre Ulysse, Board Chair.

As an individual:

Irwin Elman, Former Provincial Advocate, Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth (Ontario).

Sherry Gott and Kelly A. Lamrock each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:57 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:03 p.m., the committee resumed.

Irwin Elman and Jennifer Charlesworth each made a statement and, together with Jennifer Dreyer, answered questions.

At 7:03 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:09 p.m., the committee resumed.

Marie Suzie Casséus and Marie Pierre Ulysse each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:48 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Caroline Woodward

Clerk of the Committee